AFRICAN ORGANISATION
OF SUPREME AUDIT
INSTITUTIONS

                                                                                                                                   

Almost 3,5 billion people live in countries rich in oil, gas or minerals. With good governance and transparent management, revenues from extractive industries can have an impact on reducing poverty and promoting collective prosperity, while respecting the needs of the community and the environment.[1]. Historically, however, the extractive industries have often contributed to many of the challenges that the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) attempt to address, such as environmental degradation, displacement of populations, conflict, corruption and violation of human rights. human rights.

In the spririt of INTOSAI-PXNUMX on the Value and Benefit of SAIs – making a difference in the lives of citizens, SAIs are in a position to keep governments accountable for spending state resources responsibly through our audits and related services. Given the grave implications of poorly governed extractive industries for our citizens and the environment, this is an area where SAIs have a significant role to play.

In the sector of petroleum exploration and production, traditional audits are important but not sufficient. If we want to establish whether a government effectively protects its share of the revenues, we need to go beyond. Therefore a system-oriented performance audit is of significant value.

The Netherlands Court of Audit (NCA) in cooperation with AFROSAI-E and funded by the Netherlands Ministry of Foreign Affairs, developed an online course, How to audit government’s performance in managing oil and gas contracts, which builds on the insights from a regional cooperation project (XNUMX-XNUMX) involving the Supreme Audit Institutions of Kenya (OAG), Mozambique (TA) and Tanzania (NAOT). The course enables auditors to critically look on how to audit government’s performance in managing oil and gas contracts (particularly Production Sharing Agreements).

AFROSAI-E launched the course on its learning platform last year and it is available in English, French and Arabic to auditors from all SAIs globally. SAI auditors from countries that are exploring and producing oil and gas will greatly benefit from completing this free course.

Learners from 128 SAIs around the world have already accessed this course since it’s launch in June 2020. Learners who have already completed the course commented that it enables auditors to gain valuable insight on :

  • The reason why system-oriented approach to performance audits is applicable for oil exploration and production
  • Who participates in the audit process
  • The importance of monitoring costs
  • The characteristics of the proper functioning of the monitoring and accountability system
  • Understand how to formulate the objective of a system-oriented performance audit in cost monitoring
  • Develop audit questions using the input and output model as a tool
  • Identify sources of audit criteria to evaluate the effectiveness of government cost monitoring
  • Examples of solid audit evidence to back up your findings
  • Certain specific problems in an audit on oil exploration and production

Another valuable aspect of the course learners commented on is the practical applications and real-world examples from Mozambique, Kenya and Tanzania on how to audit government performance in managing oil and gas contracts.

Another ALP learner noted that “Although my country does not use PSC, the system-oriented performance audit is particularly useful and the clear approach can be applied in other government contracts. I now have a very thorough knowledge of the sector that can help me understand the stakeholders and the processes involved. I specialised in environmental auditing and the system-oriented performance audit can be especially useful in the assessment of government monitoring of environmental and social impact of extractive industries.” - ALP learner.

We want to encourage SAIs and individuals to include the online course : How to audit government’s performance in managing oil and gas contracts on their SAI-level and individual training plans. The four modules of the course only take an hour to complete. Learners who complete the course in full, will hence forth earn a certificate of completion.

To access the course, go to the AFROSAI-E Learning Platform (ALP) at www.afrosai-e-learning.com,register a profile and upon receiving the approval (this can take up to 48hrs) enrol for the course on ALP. If you have any questions on the registration process, refer to our Frequently Asked Questions section on the ALP page.

By AFROSAI

ORGANISATION AFRICAINE
DES INSTITUTIONS SUPERIEURES
DE CONTROLE DES FINANCES PUBLIQUES

                                                                                                                                   

Près de 3,5 milliards de personnes vivent dans des pays riches en pétrole, en gaz ou en minéraux. Avec une bonne gouvernance et une gestion transparente, les revenus des industries extractives peuvent avoir un impact sur la réduction de la pauvreté et la promotion de la prospérité collective, tout en respectant les besoins de la communauté et de l’environnement[1]. Historiquement, cependant, les industries extractives ont souvent contribué à de nombreux défis que les Objectifs de Développement Durable (ODD) tentent de relever, tels que la dégradation de l’environnement, le déplacement des populations, les conflits, la corruption et la violation des droits de l’homme.

Dans l’esprit de l’INTOSAI-P12 sur la Valeur et les avantages des SAIfaire une différence dans la vie des citoyens, les SAI béneficient d’une position qui leur permet de demander des comptes aux gouvernements sur la façon de dépenser les ressources de l’État de manière responsable grâce à nos audits et autres services connexes. Compte tenu des implications néfastes que peut avoir la mauvaise gouvernance des industries extractives sur nos citoyens et sur l’environnement, ce secteur constitue un domaine où les SAI ont un rôle important à jouer.

Dans le secteur de l’exploration et de la production pétrolières, les audits traditionnels sont importants mais insuffisants. Si nous voulons établir le fait qu’un gouvernement protège efficacement sa part des revenus, nous devons aller au-delà. Par conséquent, un audit de performance axé sur le système est d’une valeur significative.

La Cour des Comptes des Pays-Bas (NCA), en coopération avec AFROSAI-E et financée par le ministère néerlandais des Affaires étrangères, a mis au point un cours en ligne intitulé Commet auditer la performance du Gouvernement dans la gestion des contrats de petrole et de gaz, qui s’appuie sur les enseignements tirés d’un projet de coopération régionale (2018-2021) impliquant les Institutions Supérieures de Contrôle (SAI) du Kenya (OAG), du Mozambique (TA) et de la Tanzanie ‘NAOT). Le cours permet aux auditeurs d’examiner de manière critique la façon de vérifier la performance du gouvernement dans la gestion des contrats pétroliers et gaziers (en particulier les accords de partage de la production).

AFROSAI-E a initié le cours sur sa plate-forme d’apprentissage au cours de l’année précédente. Le cours est disponible en anglais, en français et en arabe pour les auditeurs de toutes les SAI dans les différentes régions du monde. Les auditeurs SAI des pays qui explorent et produisent du pétrole et du gaz bénéficieront grandement de ce cours gratuit.

Des apprenants de 128 SAI du monde entier ont déjà accédé à ce cours depuis son lancement en juin 2020. Les apprenants qui ont déjà terminé le cours ont fait savoir que ce cours permet aux auditeurs d’obtenir des informations précieuses sur:

  • La raison pour laquelle l’approche systémique des audits de performance s’applique à l’exploration et à la production pétrolières
  • Qui participe au processus d’audit
  • L’importance du suivi des coûts
  • Les caractéristiques du bon fonctionnement du système de suivi et de comptabilité
  • Comprendre comment formuler l’objectif d’un audit de performance orienté système dans le suivi des coûts
  • Élaborer des questions d’audit en utilisant le modèle d’entrée et de sortie comme outil
  • Identifier les sources des critères d’audit pour évaluer l’efficacité du suivi des coûts encourus par le gouvernement
  • Exemples d’éléments probants solides d’audit pour étayer vos constatations
  • Certains problèmes spécifiques aux audits sur l’exploration et la production pétrolières.

Un autre aspect précieux du cours sur lequel les apprenants ont commenté est les applications pratiques et les exemples concrets du Mozambique, du Kenya et de la Tanzanie sur la façon d’auditer la performance du gouvernement dans la gestion des contrats pétroliers et gaziers.

Un autre apprenant de l’ALP a noté que “Bien que mon pays n’utilise pas la PSC, l’audit de performance axé sur le système est particulièrement utile et son approche très claire peut être appliquée dans d’autres marchés publics. J’ai maintenant une connaissance très approfondie du secteur qui peut m’aider à comprendre les parties prenantes et les processus impliqués. Je me suis spécialisé dans l’audit environnemental, et l’audit de performance axé sur le système peut être particulièrement utile dans l’évaluation du suivi gouvernemental de l’impact environnemental et social des industries extractives.” – Apprenant ALP.

Nous voulons encourager les SAI et les particuliers à inclure le cours en ligne: Comment vérifier la performance du gouvernement dans la gestion des contrats pétroliers et gaziers dans leurs plans de formation individuels et au niveau des SAI. Les quatre modules du cours ne nécessitent pas plus d’une heure. Les apprenants qui terminent le cours dans son intégralité obtiendront désormais un certificat d’achèvement.

Pour accéder au cours, veuillez visiter la plateforme AFROSAI-E Learning (ALP) à l’adresse suivante www.afrosai-e-learning.com, créez un profil et après avoir reçu l’approbation (cela peut prendre jusqu’à 48 heures), inscrivez-vous au cours sur ALP. Si vous avez des questions sur le processus d’inscription, reportez-vous à notre section Foire aux Questions sur la page ALP.

By AFROSAI